Anti-Corruption Pledge

The 2013 EU anti-corruption report demonstrated corruption is a persistent problem across the 28 member states of the European Union and that urgent action is needed.

Throughout the mandate of the next European Parliament (2014-2019) I am committed to fighting corruption and promoting transparency, accountability and integrity in EU institutions, policies and legislation.

Specifically, I commit myself to working in consultation with civil society and others to achieve the following aims:

  1. The governance and law-making of EU institutions will become a global model of transparency, accountability and integrity, establishing the highest standards. I/we commit to upholding both the letter and spirit of the Code of Conduct for MEPs and will publish a ‘legislative footprint’ that will be attached to any report that I am responsible for drafting in my in office.
  2. The EU will promote greater integrity and transparency in public spending. It will ensure that all information on EU funds is published in a manner that is easily accessible and usable by citizens, for example by conforming to open data principles. EU public procurement rules will take account of open contracting principles and have effective methods to deal with conflicts of interest. This applies to spending by EU and national bodies.
  3. The EU will promote initiatives and legislation that will provide effective protection to whistleblowers in the public, private and non-profit sectors.

More about the pledge

List of signatures

  • 414 Magyar Loránd-bálint, Romania (PDF)
  • 412 Bogya Annamária, Romania (PDF)
  • 410 Pásztor Sándor, Romania (PDF)
  • 408 Pataki Csaba, Romania (PDF)
  • 406 Antal István-loránt, Romania (PDF)
  • 404 Vincze Loránt-győrgy, Romania (PDF)
  • 402 Winkler Iuliu, Romania (PDF)
  • 400 Benchescu Claudia, Romania (PDF)
  • 398 Busoi Cristian, Romania (PDF)
  • 396 TUrcanu Florin, Romania (PDF)
  • 394 Andrei Muraru, Romania (PDF)
  • 392 Krista Veita, Latvia (PDF)
  • 390 Paul Murphy, Ireland (PDF)
  • 388 Emer Costello, Ireland (PDF)
  • 386 Tilly Metz, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 384 Sylvia Camarda, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 382 Michèle Stiefer, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 380 Jeff Feller, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 378 François Benoy, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 376 Claude Turmes, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 374 Claude Adam, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 372 Ben Allard, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 413 Asztalos Ferenc, Romania (PDF)
  • 411 Kozma István-florin, Romania (PDF)
  • 409 Benkő Erika, Romania (PDF)
  • 407 Péter Ferenc, Romania (PDF)
  • 405 Hegedüs Csilla, Romania (PDF)
  • 403 Sógor Csaba, Romania (PDF)
  • 401 Jože Pirjevec, Slovenia (PDF)
  • 399 Renate Weber, Romania (PDF)
  • 397 Silviu Dumitru, Romania (PDF)
  • 395 Norica Nicolai, Romania (PDF)
  • 393 Eamon Ryan, Ireland (PDF)
  • 391 Eamon Ryan, Ireland (PDF)
  • 389 Nessa Childers, Ireland (PDF)
  • 387 Gordon Bajnai, Hungary (PDF)
  • 385 Thérèz Gorza, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 383 Sven Clemen, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 381 Marc Goergen, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 379 Gina Árvai, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 377 Elizabeth May, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 375 Claude Radoux, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 373 Camille Liesch, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 371 Andy Maar, Luxembourg (PDF)