Anti-Corruption Pledge

The 2013 EU anti-corruption report demonstrated corruption is a persistent problem across the 28 member states of the European Union and that urgent action is needed.

Throughout the mandate of the next European Parliament (2014-2019) I am committed to fighting corruption and promoting transparency, accountability and integrity in EU institutions, policies and legislation.

Specifically, I commit myself to working in consultation with civil society and others to achieve the following aims:

  1. The governance and law-making of EU institutions will become a global model of transparency, accountability and integrity, establishing the highest standards. I/we commit to upholding both the letter and spirit of the Code of Conduct for MEPs and will publish a ‘legislative footprint’ that will be attached to any report that I am responsible for drafting in my in office.
  2. The EU will promote greater integrity and transparency in public spending. It will ensure that all information on EU funds is published in a manner that is easily accessible and usable by citizens, for example by conforming to open data principles. EU public procurement rules will take account of open contracting principles and have effective methods to deal with conflicts of interest. This applies to spending by EU and national bodies.
  3. The EU will promote initiatives and legislation that will provide effective protection to whistleblowers in the public, private and non-profit sectors.

More about the pledge

List of signatures

  • 370 Ana Luisa, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 368 Sébastien Poupon, France (PDF)
  • 366 Gilles Pargneaux, France (PDF)
  • 364 Peter Lundgren, Sweden (PDF)
  • 362 Edgars Tavars, Latvia (PDF)
  • 360 Sarmīte Launaga, Latvia (PDF)
  • 358 Anders Vistisen, Denmark (PDF)
  • 356 Sissel Kvist, Denmark (PDF)
  • 354 Jørgen Grøn, Denmark (PDF)
  • 352 Jacob Isøe Klerke, Denmark (PDF)
  • 350 Karen Melchior, Denmark (PDF)
  • 348 Karina Rohr Sørensen, Denmark (PDF)
  • 346 Troels Srtu Schmidt, Denmark (PDF)
  • 344 Morten Messerchmidt, Denmark (PDF)
  • 342 Lave Broch, Denmark (PDF)
  • 340 Jože Mencinger, Slovenia (PDF)
  • 338 Silver Meikar, Estonia (PDF)
  • 336 Mihhail Lotman, Estonia (PDF)
  • 334 Aleksander Gabelic, Sweden (PDF)
  • 332 Jean- Paul Denanot, France (PDF)
  • 330 Jean Mallot, France (PDF)
  • 328 Vida Čadonič Špelič, Slovenia (PDF)
  • 369 Ali RUCKERT_KPL, Luxembourg (PDF)
  • 367 Jean Louis Cottigny, France (PDF)
  • 365 Peter Eriksson, Sweden (PDF)
  • 363 Fredrick Federley, Sweden (PDF)
  • 361 Iveta Šulca, Latvia (PDF)
  • 359 Christian Juhl, Denmark (PDF)
  • 357 Christian Kjølhede, Denmark (PDF)
  • 355 Thomas Elkjær, Denmark (PDF)
  • 353 Ole Davidsen, Denmark (PDF)
  • 351 Kristina Siig, Denmark (PDF)
  • 349 Morten Thiessen, Denmark (PDF)
  • 347 Margrethe Auken, Denmark (PDF)
  • 345 Jean Thierry, Denmark (PDF)
  • 343 Ole Christensen, Denmark (PDF)
  • 341 Melita Župevc, Slovenia (PDF)
  • 339 Kerstin-Oudekki Loone, Estonia (PDF)
  • 337 Heldur Paulson, Estonia (PDF)
  • 335 Linda Snecker, Sweden (PDF)
  • 333 Francois Alfonsi, France (PDF)
  • 331 Isabelle Thomas, France (PDF)
  • 329 Fairouz Hondema- Mokrane, France (PDF)
  • 327 Nežika Pavlič, Slovenia (PDF)