Anti-Corruption Pledge

The 2013 EU anti-corruption report demonstrated corruption is a persistent problem across the 28 member states of the European Union and that urgent action is needed.

Throughout the mandate of the next European Parliament (2014-2019) I am committed to fighting corruption and promoting transparency, accountability and integrity in EU institutions, policies and legislation.

Specifically, I commit myself to working in consultation with civil society and others to achieve the following aims:

  1. The governance and law-making of EU institutions will become a global model of transparency, accountability and integrity, establishing the highest standards. I/we commit to upholding both the letter and spirit of the Code of Conduct for MEPs and will publish a ‘legislative footprint’ that will be attached to any report that I am responsible for drafting in my in office.
  2. The EU will promote greater integrity and transparency in public spending. It will ensure that all information on EU funds is published in a manner that is easily accessible and usable by citizens, for example by conforming to open data principles. EU public procurement rules will take account of open contracting principles and have effective methods to deal with conflicts of interest. This applies to spending by EU and national bodies.
  3. The EU will promote initiatives and legislation that will provide effective protection to whistleblowers in the public, private and non-profit sectors.

More about the pledge

List of signatures

  • 502 Virginie Roziere, France (PDF)
  • 500 Ignazio Messina, Italy (PDF)
  • 498 Domenico Finiguerra, Italy (PDF)
  • 496 Attila Mesterházy, Hungary (PDF)
  • 494 Debout la République, France (PDF)
  • 492 Vincent Peillon, France (PDF)
  • 490 Sandrine Bélier, France (PDF)
  • 488 Margaret Gärding, Sweden (PDF)
  • 486 Mihai Razvan Ungureanu, Romania (PDF)
  • 484 Alexandru Rotaru, Romania (PDF)
  • 482 Unión Progreso y Democracia, Spain (PDF)
  • 480 Partido Socialista Obrero Español, Spain (PDF)
  • 478 Izquierda Unida, Spain (PDF)
  • 476 Coalición Canaria, Spain (PDF)
  • 474 Ciudadanos-Partido de la Ciudadanía,Spain (PDF)
  • 472 Victor Negrescu, Romania (PDF)
  • 470 Veaceslav Saramet, Romania (PDF)
  • 468 Sebastian Raducanu, Romania (PDF)
  • 466 Ion Voinea, Romania (PDF)
  • 464 Gabriela Zoana, Romania (PDF)
  • 462 Maria Grapini, Romania (PDF)
  • 460 Ecaterina Andronescu, Romania (PDF)
  • 501 Gino Garibaldi, Italy (PDF)
  • 499 Antonio Mazzeo, Italy (PDF)
  • 497 Igor Lukšič, Slovenia (PDF)
  • 495 Parti Pirate, France (PDF)
  • 493 Nous Citoyens, France (PDF)
  • 491 Sylvie Goulard, France (PDF)
  • 489 Kent Johansson, Sweden (PDF)
  • 487 Stina Svensson, Sweden (PDF)
  • 485 Sorin Moisa, Romania (PDF)
  • 483 Equo, Spain (PDF)
  • 481 Partido Popular, Spain (PDF)
  • 479 Partido Nacionalista Vasco, Spain (PDF)
  • 477 Esquerra Republicana de Catalunya, Spain (PDF)
  • 475 Convergència i Unió, Spain (PDF)
  • 473 Viorica Dancila, Romania (PDF)
  • 471 Tiberius Bradatan, Romania (PDF)
  • 469 Razvan Popa, Romania (PDF)
  • 467 Laurentiu Rebega, Romania (PDF)
  • 465 Ioan Mircea Pascu, Romania (PDF)
  • 463 Sorin Radu , Romania (PDF)
  • 461 Claudia Gilia, Romania (PDF)
  • 459 Damian Draghici, Romania (PDF)